Thursday, April 12, 2012

Let the State Races Begin!

The board is set and the players are in place for the 2012 state and federal elections. Missouri's primary for a number of state seats will take place on August 7.

Legal chaos over state redistricting maps created a last-minute round of musical chairs as some candidates changed plans on what seats to file for. Boundaries for all state and federal seats were altered a number of times, and faced many legal challenges. But finally, a map drawn by a bi-partisan commission appointed by Governor Jay Nixon seems to be the final version.

The changes move State Senator Jolie Justus and District 10--which had included South Kansas City and Grandview--to a rural area just north of St. Louis. Justus is not up for reelection this year.

Meanwhile, the new state senate seat for Grandview and much of South KC is District 7. No Republicans filed for the seat. For the Democrats, State Representative Jason Holsman and Jackson County Legislator Crystal Williams have both filed.

Holsman had originally intended to run for re-election in the newly created 37th State Representative seat (which includes all of Grandview). Now, the race includes three Democrats--Grandview Alderman Joe Runions, and two Lee's Summit residents-- former state representative and Mike Sager and consultant Christopher Moreno. The sole Republican vying for the seat is Nola Wood, of Kansas City. Neither Moreno nor Wood lives in the new 37th District, but if elected, they would have two years to move there.

State Rep. Kevin McManus (D) was the sole candidate to file for election to the new District 36 seat.

In the 27th District, Hickman Mills School Board President Bonnaye Mims, Bill Clinton Young and Adnan Bayazid--all Democrats--will be on the ballot.

In the 26th District, only Democrat Gail McCann Beatty filed.

For the 25th District, Democrats Jeremy Lafaver and Chris Miller will face off, and Sally Miller and Joshua Judy will be on the August ballot for the Republicans.

Filing for the House of Representatives seat for the new 56th District, which includes Martin City, are Patty Johnson (D), of Raymore, and Chris Molendorp (R) of Belton.

In addition to the state senate and state house, the upcoming election will include our U.S. House of Representative seat, one U.S. Senate seat, and Missouri's top state jobs - governor, lieutenant governor, secretary of state, treasurer and attorney general.

Incumbent U.S. Representative Emanuel Cleaver II (D), who represents the KC area, is being challenged by a field of four Republicans - Jason Green of Raytown; Jacob Turk of Lee's Summit; Jerry Nolte of Gladstone; and Ron Paul Shawd of Lee's Summit.

Incumbent U.S. Senator Claire McCaskill (D) is being challenged by a wide field of Republicans - Todd Akin, Jerry Beck, Sarah Steelman, John Brunner, Mark Memoly, Mark Patrick Lodes, Robert Poole, and Hector Maldonado. Libertarian Johnathan Dine of Riverside, is also challenging McCaskill.

Incumbent Governor Jay Nixon is being challenged from within his own Democratic party by Clay Thunderhawk. Republicans challenging Nixon are John Weiler, David Spence, Bill Randles, and Fred Sauer. One Libertarian candidate is running: Jim Higgins.

A slew of candidates is vying for the Lieutenant Governor job. Democrats seeking the seat are Susan Montee, Dennis Weisenburger, Fred Kratky, Becky Lee Plattner, Judy Baker, Sara Lampe, Bill Hass, and Jackie Townes McGee. Republicans running for Lt. Governor are Charles Kullmann, Brad Lager, Peter Kinder, and Mike Carter. Matthew Copple is running as a Libertarian; Cynthia Davis is running for the Constitution Party.

Democrats hoping to be the new Secretary of State are Jason Kander and MD Rabbi Alam, both of Kansas City. Republican candidates for that position are Scott Rubb, Shane Schoeller, and Bill Stouffer. Cisse Spragins is the Libertarian candidate; Justin Harteris the Constitution Party candidate.

Incumbent Democrat State Treasurer Clint Zweifel is challenged by Republican Cole McNary and Libertarian Sean O'Toole.

Candidates for Attorney General include incumbent Chris Koster (D), Republicans Ed Martin and Adam Lee Warren, and Libertarian Dave Browning. 

No comments:

Post a Comment