Thursday, April 17, 2014

Hickman Mills Reorganizes School Board



by Paul Thompson

The Hickman Mills C-1 Board of Education welcomed newly elected board member Karry Palmer and reorganized last Thursday, April 10, in a special regular meeting held before their monthly work session.

Palmer, Dan Osman, and Bonnaye Mims took the oath of office at the special meeting, marking the official end of Breman Anderson, Jr.’s tenure on the C-1 Board of Education. Once sworn in, the board re-elected Eric Lowe as president and named Shawn Kirkwood as their new vice president, replacing Osman in that capacity.

Osman was named as the board’s new MSBA delegate, while board member Darrell Curls will serve as the MSBA alternate.

Truman Elementary teacher Tracy Pruitt expressed optimism for the future of the C-1 district during the portion of the meeting reserved for audience comments.

“I wish to congratulate the three candidates that the Hickman Mills NEA endorsed for the Board of Education,” said Pruitt. “The voters of Hickman Mills sent a message, and I hope it was heard loud and clear that they would not support dirty politics.”

No comments:

Post a Comment